Douglas’ early history dates back hundreds of years to the 1500’s and the early Spanish explorers. Douglas was founded as an American smelter town for the prosperous copper mines in Bisbee, AZ. The town is named after mining pioneer Dr. James Douglas, and was incorporated in 1902. The Copper Queen operated in Douglas from 1904 until 1931, when the Phelps Dodge Corporation purchased the Calumet and Arizona Company and took over their smelter.
Historic landmarks including the Hotel Gadsden, the Southern Pacific Railroad Depot, the Grand Theatre (currently under renovation), Church Square (the only location in the world where four different churches are housed on the same block), and the first international airport in the U.S. The Douglas area is also home to many cattle ranches, the famous Slaughter Ranch as well as the San Bernardino and Leslie Canyon National Wildlife Refuges with over 283 different species of birds. Grassy lands made Douglas the perfect area for roundups for many of the region’s largest cattle ranchers.
Douglas has numerous community facilities including an indoor aquatic center, art gallery, seven parks, a picturesque 18 hole golf course, tennis and racquetball courts, a recreation center, public library, Cochise College and affiliated University of Arizona course offerings, plus an impressive list of community programs and activities for its citizens.